Poem: Energy Runs Wild

Energy Runs Wild

I saw clearly
the shape of things
and then
I saw past “things”.

I understood communication
until I heard
what was behind
all speech.

I talked to people
made into straw
and saw the field
turn cold.

I felt the sunlight
until it was
starlight.

I saw the heavens
above Earth
from above.

I felt God grab
the nape of my identity
and pull it out
of the back of my throat.

As the thousandth ghost to leave me
released
my eyes looked upon
this whole new world.

And I prayed, for the thousandth time
that I could find the lungs to breathe
this new air…
that I could find the heart
to beat in this new body
that I could feel the love
I knew
before I died.

And then I laughed,
because that is the only thing
that never changes,
the only thing I get to keep
every day that this happens,
when the energy runs wild.

Love never changes,
everything else does.

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem: Energy Runs Wild

  1. Eontheriver says:

    Gorgeous, Charlie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

