Poem: Armistice Eyes

One way to peace…..

Look into the mirror

and

declare an armistice.

Those enemy eyes

are on your side

of the Maginot lines.

Cross over

into your Self

and find peace.

Show your treatise,

your embattled,

hard won treatise,

to everyone you meet…

Show them the look and feel

of ceasefire…of a war that ended…

show them

your armistice eyes.

(I give credit to the title and leading thought of this poem to the song the  Get Over It.   I listened to it and thought I heard the words “armistice eyes”.  I checked…it was actually “honest eyes”.  But I fell in love with the feeling of those words…it was too late, and out came the poem.  So..thanks to my bad hearing and thanks to OKGO!)

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem: Armistice Eyes

  1. Angela says:

    This is very beautiful! I loved reading it and I agree with your feelings on “armistice eyes” – you have coined a very wonderful phrase.

    Like

    • addpresence says:

      Angela,
      Thank you very much. And yes, I agree with you…it does feel like a phrase to be coined actually. As soon as I thought I heard it in the song, even though it wasn’t in the song, I immediately thought it would make such a great phrase. I love it…it says a lot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

