Poetry: Songbird Heart

I am
A pointed finger that indicates nowhere
A notchless arrow
A mirror that has nothing to show.

There is only sound
restless leaves overheard
overhead
punctuated with birdsong.

Reminds me of acting as “songbird”
for other’s hearts I wanted to
be closest to.
Singing sweet music
to those busy beauties
made for single sided glory
“listen to how much I love you”
but who can really believe it?

They’d point and say “look over there!”
They’d load themselves into a bow
with the satisfaction of a hopeful new
trajectory.
They would gaze into the mirror
find something they did not like
and ask me to sing
louder to cover up the sound
of what they did not love.
And I did…
until my voice gave out.

And now?
I point towards mysterious emptiness
live as the flightless arrow
and reflect whatever
the other is ready to see…
it was never up to me.

All I know for sure
is that Love has no favorites.
Like the wind
and sun,
it touches us all
and now,
no matter where I am to be found
that is my song.

laying here underneath
these trees…
Without meaning to,
this songbird heart
now sings to everyone.

And one songbird
can sound beautiful
but I’d love to hear
the sound of all of us
singing to one another
at the same time.

Ah yes,
true
true…
we already are…
Songbird hearts,
have patience
finding harmony takes time.

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in Poetry, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poetry: Songbird Heart

  1. Angela says:

    You write with such an intensity, Charlie, as though the light and love in your heart drenches your soul. This is a beautiful poem. Wishing you many blessings.

    Like

  2. Mike & Sarah says:

    A warm and heart-felt poem. Sublime sentiments, indeed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

