Poetry: We are We

I reached through the window
of birth
to borrow the eye’s of humanity
to look at myself
as the night sky…
otherwise,
how could I have ever known?

From that agonized place
where I could not find
my own edge
I begged for a body
that could feel the keen
brisk and calm
turbulations
of wind,
and I discovered myself
across the surface of my
own skin.

I never knew heat
nor grasped radiance
until my heart rate escalated
and sweat prickled my brow
and my eyes winced from bright…
how did I live this long
without knowing?

I never knew what do with fear
until I had a human heart.
I never shed a single tear
until I could feel the pain
of being in the world.

I never danced
until I had those feet.
I could not listen
until my ears caught the beat.

Humans wonder what they
have come to be…
they are me…
I am them
and we are we.

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poetry: We are We

  1. I like this. You will enjoy Peter’s calendars.

    Like

  2. Kate says:

    Absolutely beautiful Charlie – thank you!

    Like

  3. Mike & Sarah says:

    This resonates with my heart – love Sarah. Charlie describes what it is like to be human objectively and then merges that with the subjective aspect of timeless being.

    Like

Leave a Reply

