Poetry: I Have Not Forgotten That You Existed

I have not forgotten
that you existed.

I haven’t forgotten
the sunlit November day
your brown hair and leaves
swept up by the breeze
and each equally hard to capture,
like a wild horse
galloping for its life
running like the wind.
I have not forgotten you.  

I have not forgotten that you exist
and how that
changes
rearranges
while we both watch
but I still see you
and I haven’t forgotten that you exist.

Don’t forget that I remember
everything about you
more so
as time acts like a lens
sharpening the focus
on that which becomes distant…

I don’t want you to go
I didn’t want you to go
You already left
Please don’t leave
Where are you?
No matter which of these matter to me most…
I have not forgotten
that you exist
and if you are reading this over my shoulder
and I can’t see you,
I haven’t forgotten that you existed
inside of a place
that I could actually see
touch
smell
and love.

As long as I am here
you are with me.
Somedays there will be days
where neither of us will be.
I will see you when we decide to return
again.
Until then
I have not forgotten
that you existed.

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in Past lives, Poetry, reincarnation, relationship, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry: I Have Not Forgotten That You Existed

  1. tealas says:

    This is so tender, may it be delivered on the breath of angels wings ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

