Poetry: We All Made Sense

Reincarnation is time travel,
I don’t know when you came from
but we are here for now.
welcome back.

I’ve been to a future where
Earth isn’t what they called it,
when the last of those people ran out
and a new name found itself on new
tongues.

I have felt the curve of letters
form
as speech was wrought from sound
and cast upon stone
and then paper
for so very many to use
for so short a time
though how long it felt to them.

I have seen peace eclipse war
and the war to end all wars
drift down and land as dust
upon two lovers who slept all night
unwary of the atmosphere…
they shook out the sheets
in the bright morning sun
and it fell like moon dust
the past of so much sacrifice
and wisdom
drifted carelessly under the bed.

I’ve seen poets put down the pen
to drive a sword
deep into a just cause
and
warrior children
lay down their weapons
in exchange for kind words
they had never before heard.

Everywhere
everytime
I have been,
I have looked into my reflection
and seen all of you,
and so have you,
seen all of me.

Today rain fell on my cheek
drizzly hello from above
pitter pattering all gentle…
I looked up to see
boisterous branches dance
and strike
and come away again…
we made sense then
and I longed to wrap my arms
around the great Oak trunks
of the forest.
But as I lay there,
I held myself
and it was the same.

As I held myself…
we all made sense.

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry: We All Made Sense

  1. barbjjane says:

    great poem.  Thanks, Charlie……..

    Like

  2. janeadamsart says:

    What a beautiful and moving poem. So much …

    Like

Leave a Reply

