Poetry: Flight, Extension, Wind

just before capsize rounding Cape Horn.  Courtesy of http://speeddreamblog.blogspot.com/

just before capsize rounding Cape Horn. Courtesy of http://speeddreamblog.blogspot.com/

How long does flight take?

The south tradewinds
have greeted me with
ripped lashings
buckled plates
and a downed mast.
Deeply set am I
in the narrow mouth
of Cape Horn
all heeled over in winter
and lost in the maw
of a white williwaw.

I am driven towards flight
on this hell bent night
thus before the rocks came…
my toes turn flocken
and arms to wings
my feet slip from the deck
as the screaming wind sings…
I enter the space
called sky
on that dread night
I learned to fly.

How long will this flight take?
Can you have an enemy as bold as the wind?
For it will not slow down enough
for me to land.
Neither will it blow strong enough
to strike me from the sky…
we are at impasse
the wind and I.

The gift of flight
imprisons.
A place so vast
no one can tell
I am within these walls.
If only you were not the wind…
If only I had not learned about
these wings of mine,
I could loathe you
with precision.

I soar and swoop
and hate you from above
I seek to keep you
from those that I love.
I am trying to fly
between the sun and a seed
to keep you from giving
what someone may need.

Perhaps you are the Ancient Mariner
and I have become the Albatross
If I slip into the sea,
will you set my loved one’s free?

How long will this flight take?
Some will say
for as long as the wind blows
then friends I must know…for how long does the wind blow?

6840409416_28889d887e_b

photo courtesy ME

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry: Flight, Extension, Wind

  1. Bob Walker says:

    Heard this song on the radio on the way to work. Looked up the lyrics because I can never understand what they are saying half the time. Reminded me of your poem. Also helped me. I have been anxious because the project is behind and I am not happy with some of the team members. They are not getting their stuff done and I know it’s going to come down to me putting in some heroic effort at the end to make it all work. Obsessing about speaking up and saying Hey, These guys are not doing their job. One of the them is someone higher up in management and usually supports me, or is on “my side” and I don’t want to jeopardize that. However, I feel I have to say what is on my mind. If I don’t, resentment sets in. Have to speak the truth. Learning that. But with some compassion and empathy. Empathy is not easy for me. Working on it.

    Then I heard this song and “puts my trust in God and Man”. That reminded me that these folks are God too. And I felt a little better. Have to remember they are running in the rat race too and are scared and… I don’t know, feel like me probably.

    Hope you have a good day.

    Bob

    David Bowie Modern Love Lyrics Translation in progress. Please wait…

    Songwriters: D. BOWIE I know when to go out And when to stay in Get things done [spoken]

    I catch a paper boy But things don’t really change I’m standing in the wind But I never wave bye-bye

    But I try I try

    There’s no sign of life It’s just the power to charm I’m lying in the rain But I never wave bye-bye

    But I try I try

    Never gonna fall for Modern Love walks beside me Modern Love walks on by Modern Love gets me to the Church on Time Church on Time terrifies me Church on Time makes me party Church on Time puts my trust in God and Man God and Man no confessions God and Man no religion God and Man don’t believe In Modern Love

    Like

Leave a Reply

