Poem: Moon Talk

 

Why do I only notice you
when it is dark?

You do not look for me
when there is light.

It is the night 
that makes me visible to you.

Does it bother you…
to be suspended
against blackness?

Not so long
as it is light
well used.

Only from here
can I help others 
appreciate
the sanctity
of being connected
to the ground,
to community,
to the Earth.
The very hardship
that makes you look up
for light
is the dark
that makes me look down…

What do you mean?

Your darkness
is the birthplace
of holiness…
despair is the wellspring
of hope.
And I, the moon
welcome the longing gaze upwards
as I marvel at what feats
of bravery
do transpire below.

We are both looking
at one another…
just from different 
places.
We both look bright to one another.

In your night of despair
when you have the strength
to look up and search
the evening sky for me
I am looking down,
searching for you.

How Do You Recognize Me?

I look for the light.

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in art, Essay, kundalini support, Meditations, Poetry, prayer, relationship, Sacred Intimacy, sacred poetry, satsang, spiritual activism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

