Find me, my arrow

My heart is a kite
it’s spinning around.
The wind grabs an edge
I crash into the ground.
String and wooden strips
paper and broken bits,
I find one knee
then two…
my eyes narrow and sharpen
searching the skies for you.

This life is so short
you wouldn’t believe
how long it is.
Kindness ocean deep
but found in shallow
puddles….
Wisdom locked in a keep
broken moats in the water.

Arduously
a tree top
struggles
to bend
with a gale
it’s long been friends with.
For fear cools the natural
closeness of all things.

When I am dragged
onto the shore
all I look for is my family,
all that I seek
is their safety
all that I want
is what they want…
and I want them to want
to know love
like this.
Wavebreaking devotion.
Sunbright bearing affection.
Heatburned patience.

I’ve waited on the island
and rescued myself
to keep them afloat…
which is another way to say
we were all saved
by another
by an incoming agreement
by a predating concurrence
by a straight arrow
shot by ourselves
decades ago.

Oh, find me my arrow,
I am your target.
Strike this chest
let me be my best
for those that need
me most.
Raise me up
so that
I can not be lost
to them,
make of me a mountain
for them to climb,
a tree
for shade
a garden
for sustenance.

Make me into
many people
divide me in two
like we said
that I’d do…
so I can be enough
for both
of my children.

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Find me, my arrow

  1. bobwalker1968 says:

    Beautiful

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Jul 15, 2016, at 2:52 AM, Sky Meeting The Ground wrote:

    WordPress.com skymeetingtheground posted: “My heart is a kite it’s spinning around. The wind grabs an edge I crash into the ground. String and wooden strips paper and broken bits, I find one knee then two… my eyes narrow and sharpen searching the skies for you. This life is so short “

    Like

  2. storyland99 says:

    Oh, find me, my arrow… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

