What I Miss Most

What I miss most
are the things
that never happened.
The conversations
that never had words.
The looks
that never got traded.
Hands that never held.
That sweet inviolable
sense of safety
where no one is
trying
to take
a thing
away from you.

Live in a world
where
feeling safe
is
your normal…do that for me,
because I can’t.

This lump of clay
won’t take shape
into the life
I was to give
them.
The potters are firing up
the kiln
but our lives are
spinning still
spinning, and the wheel
is whispering
in circles
about impermanence,
whispering to me
about
relational entropy
and sovereignty
requires a velocity
a ferocity
when it comes to
malleability.

I must take the form of
what I miss
the most,
at all times,
for now,
lest we forget
why we missed
what we missed.
For to forget that
is to repeat it forever.

And I’d rather feel
what I miss most
about the life we never had
than doom my children
to have a life
filled
with what they miss most
in decades to come.

 

 

About skymeetingtheground

Healer, poet, author, yogi, single father...outdoorsy guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Miss Most

Leave a Reply

